URBIO Presidium & Advisory Board

The URBIO Presidium is elected by the URBIO Advisory Board every 4 years.  The first URBIO President was the URBIO founder, Norbert Müller (2008-2014). During the 4th URBIO conference 2014 in Incheon, Korea, Haripriya Gundimeda was elected as President of the network. In the tradition of the network the organiser of the latest URBIO conference is designated Secretary General. From November 2014 to September 2019 the URBIO network had three Vice Presidents and Deputy Vice Presidents, each presiding over a main topic of the network and with special tasks within the board. The network also has the Senior Advisors Group. The Advisory Board supports the Presidium in their work. The URBIO Advisory Board usually meets at URBIO conferences and workshops.  During the last URBIO conference 2018 in Cape Town, South Africa, new Presidents and Secretary General were suggested. In summer 2019, Maria Ignatieva and Charles Nilon were elected as Presidents and Pippin Anderson was confirmed as the Secretary General of URBIO. Based on suggestion of the Presidents and Senior Advisors,  Advisory Board members have been confirmed.

URBIO President

Presidents are main representatives of URBIO and hold the contact to SCBD and the Global Partnership. They are responsible for the organisation of the whole network including the URBIO Newsletter and the conferences.

       Maria Ignatieva

Maria Ignatieva

University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia 

URBIO President 
URBIO Vice-President 2014-2019


Charles H. Nilon

University of Missouri, Columbia MO, USA

URBIO President 

URBIO Head Scientist UrbioNet 2014-2019

URBIO Secretary General

Organiser of the last URBIO conference, bringing the URBIO Declaration to the Biodiversity Summit
at the CBD COP. Responsible editor for publishing the conference results. Holding contact to the
currently CBD COP leading Government.

Pippin M. Anderson

University of Cape Town,African Centre of Cities, Cape Town, South Africa


URBIO Secretary General

Conference Organizer URBIO 2018

URBIO Senior Advisors

Advice and support of the presidium

Thomas Elmqvist

Stockholm University / Stockholm Resilience Centre, Stockholm, Sweden

URBIO Senior advisor since 2014
Head Scientist Cities and Biodiversity Outlook 


Yukihiro Morimoto

Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

URBIO Conference Organiser 2010

URBIO Senior advisor since 2014

President of ICLEE


Norbert Müller

University of Applied Sciences Erfurt, Erfurt, Germany

URBIO Founder & President 2008 - 2014
Conference Organiser URBIO 2008


Advisory Board

Haripriya Gundimeda

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India

URBIO President 2014-2019
Conference Organiser URBIO 2012
URBIO Secretary General 2012-2014


Peter Werner

Institute for Housing and Environment, Darmstadt, Germany

Conference Co-organizer URBIO 2008

President of Competence Network Urban Ecology (CONTUREC)

Chantal van Ham

European Union Representative Office of IUCN, Brussels, Belgium

IUCN Representative

Sarel Cilliers

North-West University, Potchestroom, South Africa

Conference Organizer URBIO 2018

Mark E. Hostetler

University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA

Keitaro Ito

Kyushu Institute of Technology, Kita Kyushu, Japan

Ryo Kohsaka

Knazawa University, Kanazawa, Japan

Ian MacGregor-Fors

Instituto de Ecologia, A.C., Xalapa, Mexico

Mahito Kamada

University of Tokushima, Tokushima, Japan

Conference Co-Organiser URBIO 2010
URBIO Secretary General 2010-2012


Mark McDonnell

University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Australia

Wayne C. Zipperer

USDA Forest Service, Gainsville, FL, USA

Diana Dushkova

Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany

Moscow State University, Moscow, Russian Federation 

Dagmar Haase

Humboldt University, Berlin Germany

Marcus Hedblom

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Uppsala, Sweden

Youngkeun Song

Seoul National University, Seoul, Republic of Korea

Nam Choon Kim

Dankook University / Korean Society of Environmental Restoration Techniques (KOSERT), Republic of Korea

Conference Organiser URBIO 2014
URBIO General Secretary 2014-2016

Jessica Kavonik

ICLEI Africa, Cape Town South Africa

Ernita Van Wyk

South African National Biodiversity Institute, Pretoria South Africa

Christine Brodsky

Pittsburg State University, USA

Lena Chan

National Biodiversity Centre, Sinagpore Singapore

Oliver Hillel

Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity, Montreal Canada

Program Officer 
Responsible for the engagement of states, regions and cities in the work of Convention and for main streaming of biodiversity into economic sectors and development

Kobie Brand

ICLEI Cities Biodiversity Centre, Cape Town South Africa

Website Designed by : DnK International